Posted by: lmcg1 | September 1, 2009

New year’s resolutions

greens

The beginning of September always seems like the start of a new year, much more so than Jan 1. It is probably because of the link to the school/university year, which has been a part of my whole life, in one way or another. So I thought maybe I should make some resolutions now, although, we all know that resolutions are always broken. Still maybe just to think about what the upcoming winter will bring, and how to make the best of it.

I already know that I will be going out to Vancouver in November, for about a week. A painting workshop and critique session happily coincides with Ariane’s birthday, so it will be a doubly good time to go out. I’ll get to have some family time, particularly staying for some extra days.

I have decided that I will be winding up volunteering with the seniors group that I have been with for almost 5 years. They are all now very frail and not really able to participate any more, even though they try. Pretty well all of them are now fairly ill too, so I don’t want to make them feel they have to show up when they can’t really manage any more. I will just go and visit from time to time.

I also plan to work on some specific paintings, towards submitting them for shows in the next year or so. The idea of a body of work has been in the back of my mind for some time. With shows though, I have put everything out there. I did do a theme for last winter with the coastal paintings and I really enjoyed doing that. I have been thinking about a series called ‘Organic/Inorganic’, using paintings of rusted objects and of succulents together. I am going to try the very big succulent painting I have been planning for a while and hope to start quite soon as it will take some time to do.

One of the painting groups is trying to decide if we will have a show yet this fall. We will have to decide soon as time will fly by! Hopefully that will be decided soon, as it will impact other possibilities. I have also had an idea about doing an at-home, salon type show with the group. I haven’t discussed it with anyone yet, but the place is big enough to do it, and there would be very little in the way of overhead costs.  Something to think about anyway.

There are also some personal issues I really need to deal with, so it is time to get going on those. No success on dealing with it myself, so time to get some outside input. So there will be no shortage of things going on. For now, just enjoying our late summer weather, after a cool spring and summer. Nice to have to warmth and good light.


Leave a comment

Categories