Posted by: L | January 10, 2016

A new site for textile artists – Textillia

To start the new year, I’d like to write about a new textile arts site called Textillia.

To quote the ‘About’ page,

‘Textillia is an online database and community for all manner of sewing and fabric enthusiasts! We welcome quilters, garment, accessory, and home decor sewists, and textile artists such as embroiderers, dyers, and people who print fabric.’ I recommend that you go to the ‘About’ page as it has a great description of the site and its aims.

I must admit to having a connection to the creators of the site, Ariane and Bruno, my daughter and son-in-law. These two very creative people have taken their multiplicity of talents to develop a great site for anyone who has anything to do with textiles.

To access the site, it is necessary to register, which is free at the moment. Take a look at all the projects people are posting, as well as patterns and fabrics. There are also a large number of forums (or fora for the grammatically precise) covering topics like quilting, patterns, projects, fabrics, workshops, locating things, problem solving etc. And there is also a blog. So lots to see, work with and participate in.

I used to sew a lot, starting when I was in junior high, in the dim mists of time. Then we learned basic sewing in home ec. I remember we made our apron (bibbed, pleated, ties), a box pleated skirt, and a top. I actually first learned to sew on an old Singer treadle machine when I was about 6, ‘making clothes’ for my dolls. I wish I had that machine still. It was much like this one.

images

By the time home ec came along we had a basic electric machine. Although I didn’t continue with home ec, it started me on many years of sewing, because it was an inexpensive way to get clothes for me. I went on to make all kinds of things over the years, including clothes for my daughter.

Which brings me back to Textillia. I don’t have a lot of what I made any more, but I did keep a few of the things I made for my daughter, and it has been fun to revisit them and put them up on the ‘Projects’ page. Other people looking at them actually helped me to find a company I had used 30 years ago, from England, for clothing kits. And it is still in business!

Also, back in 1992 I had taken a hand quilting class, and got 12 squares made. Then put it away. I got it back out again last month, and decided that I need to finish it. So after quite a few years having left sewing behind, and actually getting rid of most of my ‘stash’ – sewists will know what I mean – and most of my patterns, I just ordered some patterns and am working on the quilt. All thanks to Textillia!

So get inspired and join the new online sewing community. See you there!

IMG_1898.jpg

flying geese sq

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

